Jazz Morgan, Giving Voice to Bear, 2015, oil, 32 x 38 inches, Courtesy of the artist


Saturday, September 17, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 5:00pm

Surge is an ongoing partnership between Skagit County scientists, educators, and artists to explore changes and impacts such as rising sea levels, changing river flows, and how these affect people and the ecosystem we live in and depend upon. Partnering organizations include Skagit Climate Science Consortium, Skagit Land Trust, Skagit Watershed Council, MoNA and Swinomish Indian Tribal Community. 

Past exhibits have focused on the forests and forest ecosystems, magnitude and movement of freshwater and sediment, coastal and estuarine areas, and invited curiosity about the interconnectedness of the physical (storm surge, sea level rise, flooding, salt) and living (plants, animals, human) worlds. Past artists have included: Christine Awad SchmalzMary Coss, Heather Cromwell,  Madeline Crowley, Alice Dubiel, Mona Fairbanks, Lauren Frugé, Cara Jaye, Theodora Jonsson, George Lee, Klara Maisch, Eve McCauley-Chomiak, Lin McJunkin, Colleen Monette, Jazz Morgan, Julie Morse, Yvette Neumann, Richelle Potter-Kypuros, Heather Thomas, Suze Woolf and Jennifer Yates. 

Surge partnerships and exhibits offer the opportunity for curiosity to result in greater awareness that can lead to community efforts to inspire change.

​Please check back for future events and exhibits.


This project has been funded in part by the United States Environmental Protection Agency under assistance agreement PA-00J991- 01 to the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community. This project does not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Environmental Protection Agency, nor does mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation for use.


Museum of Northwest Art


The Museum of Northwest Art connects people with the art, diverse cultures and environments of the Northwest. 



MoNA collects and exhibits contemporary art from across the Northwest, including Alaska, British Columbia, California, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.